Natural Sciences

Programs

The Department of Natural Sciences consists of six units, namely Biology, Chemistry, Forensic Science, Mathematics, Physics and SUNO-UNO Dual Engineering. Among these units, the department offers BS degree programs in the areas of Biology, Mathematics, and Forensic Science. It also serves to provide instruction for students planning to acquire degrees in these specific content areas, as well as offering support courses in these subjects to satisfy criteria for graduation in other disciplines.


Goals

The individual units in the Department share the following goals: (1) to enable students, through the fulfillment of the University requirements, to understand the nature of the universe and the world around them; (2) to provide areas of concentrated study for students who contemplate careers as professionals in the sciences; (3) to give students well-balanced training in the application of the scientific method, techniques, and mathematics to solve contemporary problems; and (4) to prepare students for admission to schools of medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, forensic science, and engineering, as well as graduate schools in the sciences and engineering.


Curricula

Audit Form -- Biology (158 KB)

Audit Form -- Forensic Science (446 KB)

Audit Form -- Math (390 KB)

Audit Form -- Math Dual Degree (376 KB)

Audit Form -- Math Engineering (373 KB)


Staff

Dr. David S. Adegboye

Dr. David S. Adegboye

Vice-Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Evening & Weekend Affairs, SACS Liaison and Director of Accreditation, Reaffirmation and Review of Academic Programs, Professor of Biology

Email: dadegboye@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5381

Office: Bashful Administration Building, Room 158

Dr. Bashir Mahmoud Rezk Atteia

Dr. Bashir Atteia

Associate Professor, Biology

Email: batteia@suno.edu

Phone: 504.284.5405

Office: Natural Sciences Building, Room 364

Dr. Rachid Belmasrour

Dr. Rachid Belmasrour

Associate Professor, Math

Email: rbelmasror@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5116

Room: Natural Sciences Building, Room 466


Dr. Zheng Chen

Dr. Zheng Chen

Associate Professor, Math

Email: zchen@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5097

Office: Natural Sciences Building, Room 467

Dr. Zheng Chen

Dr. Christian Clement

Associate Professor, Biology

Email: cclement@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5406

Office: Natural Sciences Building, Room 365

Dr. Zheng Chen

Dr. Kimyata Dilworth

Instructor

Email: kdilworth@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5458

Room: Bashful Administration Building, Room 204B


Dr. Ibrahim Ekaidi

Dr. Ibrahim Ekaidi

Professor, Biology (Anatomy and Physiology)

Email: iekaidi@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5110

Office: Natural Sciences Building, Room 366

Dr. Mostafa Elaasar

Dr. Mostafa Elaasar

Professor, Physics

Email: melaasar@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5036

Office: Natural Sciences Building, Room 273

Dr. Paris Favorite

Dr. Paris Favorite

Director / Assistant Professor, Forensic Science

Email: pfavorite@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5112

Room: New Science Building, Room 461


 

Dr. Penney Heath

Dr. Penney Heath

Associate Professor, Math

Email: pheath@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5149

Office: Natural Sciences Building, Room 271

Dr. Carl P. Johnson

Dr. Carl P. Johnson

Professor, Chemistry

Email: cjohnson@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5461

Office: Natural Sciences Building, Room 459

Dr. Murty S. Kambhampati

Dr. Murty S. Kambhampati

Professor, Biology

Email: mkambham@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5069

Office: Natural Sciences Building, Room 363


Dr. Heon Kim

Dr. Heon Kim

Associate Professor, Math

Email: hkim@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5146

Office: Natural Sciences Building, Room 469

Dr. Tchavdar Marinov

Dr. Tchavdar Marinov

Professor, Math

Email: tmarinov@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5145

Office: Natural Sciences Building, Room 470

Dr. Lisa Mims-Devezin

Dr. Lisa Mims-Devezin

Professor, Biology

Email: lmims@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5064

Office: Natural Sciences Building, Room 261


Dr. Joseph O. Olubadewo

Dr. Joseph O. Olubadewo

Professor, Biology

Email: jolubadewo@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5109

Office: Natural Sciences Building, Room 368

Dr. Joe Omojola

Dr. Joe Omojola

Professor, Natural Sciences

Email: jomojola@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5096

Office: Natural Sciences Building, Room 458

Dr. Cynthia Singleton

Dr. Cynthia Singleton

Professor, Math

Email: csingleton@suno.edu

Phone: 504-284-5479

Office: Natural Sciences Building, Room 270


Dr. Nebiat Sisay

Dr. Nebiat Sisay

Assistant Professor, Natural Sciences

Email: nsisay@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5309

Office: Natural Sciences Building, Room 473

Dr. Delin Tan

Dr. Delin Tan

Associate Professor, Math

Email: dtan@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5147

Office: Natural Sciences Building, Room 472

Dr. Illya Tietzel

Dr. Illya Tietzel

Professor, Biology

Email: itietzel@suno.edu

Phone: 504.286.5111

Office: Natural Sciences Building, Room 369


Dr. Yi Zhen

Dr. Yi Zhen

Assistant Professor

Email: yzhen@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5241

Office: Natural Sciences Building, Room 272

This website uses cookies to ensure site visitors get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies and Privacy Statement. To find out more, please visit Southern University's Privacy Statement.