Natural Sciences

Programs

The Department of Natural Sciences consists of six units, namely Biology, Chemistry, Forensic Science, Mathematics, Physics and SUNO-UNO Dual Engineering. Among these units, the department offers BS degree programs in the areas of Biology, Mathematics, and Forensic Science. It also serves to provide instruction for students planning to acquire degrees in these specific content areas, as well as offering support courses in these subjects to satisfy criteria for graduation in other disciplines.

Goals

The individual units in the Department share the following goals: (1) to enable students, through fulfillment of the University requirements, to understand the nature of the universe and the world around them; (2) to provide areas of concentrated study for students who contemplate careers as professionals in the sciences; (3) to give students well-balanced training in the application of scientific method, techniques, and mathematics to solve contemporary problems; and (4) to prepare students for admission to schools of medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, forensic science, and engineering, as well as graduate schools in the sciences and engineering.

Curricula

Audit Form -- Biology (158 KB)

Audit Form -- Forensic Science (446 KB)

Audit Form -- Math (390 KB)

Audit Form -- Math Dual Degree (376 KB)

Audit Form -- Math Engineering (373 KB)

Staff

Dr. David S. Adegboye

Professor of Microbiology, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, and Accreditation Liaison

Email: dadegboye@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5381

Room: Bashful Administration Building, Room 158

Dr. Bashir Mahmoud Rezk Atteia

Assistant Professor

Email: batteia@suno.edu

Phone: 504.284.5405

Room: New Science Buidling, Room 321E

Dr. Rachid Belmasrour

Assistant Professor

Email: rbelmasror@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5116

Room: New Science Building, Room 323

Dr. Alvin Bopp

Professor

Email: abopp@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5025

Room: Brown Hall, Room 304

Dr. Zheng Chen

Associate Professor

Email: zchen@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5097

Room: New Science Building, Room 307

Dr. Christian Clement

Assistant Professor

Email: cclement@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5406

Room: New Science Building, Room 321E

Dr. Kimyata Dilworth

Instructor

Email: kdilworth@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5458

Room: Bashful Administration Building, Room 204B

Dr. Ibrahim Ekaidi, M.D.

Associate Professor

Email: iekaidi@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5110

Room: New Science Building, Room 317

Dr. Mostafa Elaasar

Professor

Email: melaasar@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5036

Room: Brown Hall, Room 208

Ms. Paris Favorite

Instructor

Email: pfavorite@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5112

Room: Bashful Administration Building, Room 205

Dr. Penney Heath

Associate Professor

Email: pheath@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5149

Room: New Science Building, Room 307

Dr. Carl P. Johnson

Professor

Email: cjohnson@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5461

Room: Brown Hall, Room 308

Dr. Murty S. Kambhampati

Professor

Email: mkambham@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5069

Room: New Science Building, Room 321A

Dr. Heon Kim

Associate Professor

Email: hkim@suno.edu

Room: New Science Building, Room 323

Dr. Tchavdar Marinov

Associate Professor

Email: tmarinov@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5145

Room: Brown Hall, Room 208

Dr. Pam Marshall

Assistant Professor/Director, Forensic Science

Email: pmarshall@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5307

Room: Bashful Administration Building, Room 205

Dr. Lisa Mims-Devezin

Professor of Biology and Dean, College of Arts and Science

Email: lmims@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5074

Room: Lake Campus Multipurpose Complex, Room 407

Dr. Phyllis Okwan

Instructor

Email: pokwan@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5094

Room: New Science Building, Room 321F

Dr. Joseph O. Olubadewo

Associate Professor

Email: jolubadewo@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5109

Room: New Science Building, Room 319

Dr. Joe Omojola

Professor

Email: jomojola@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5096

Room: Brown Hall, Room 204

Dr. Cynthia Singleton

Professor

Email: csingleton@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5479

Room: New Science Building, Room 212D

Dr. Nebiat Sisay

Assistant Professor

Email: nsisay@suno.edu

Room: Brown Building, Room 307

Dr. Delin Tan

Associate Professor

Email: dtan@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5147

Room: New Science Building, Room 323

Dr. Illya Tietzel

Associate Professor

Email: itietzel@suno.edu

Phone: 504.286.5111

Room: New Science Building, Room 315

Dr. Yi Zhen

Assistant Professor

Email: yzhen@suno.edu

Phone: 504-286-5241

Room: Brown Building, Room 208

Get Social

This website uses cookies to ensure site visitors get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies and Privacy Statement. To find out more, please visit Southern University's Privacy Statement.

I agree