Natural Sciences

Programs

The Department of Natural Sciences is comprised of four units, namely Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics. The Department offers a Bachelor of Science (B.S.) Degrees in Biology and Mathematics.  In addition, the Department offers courses for non-science majors to satisfy requirements for graduation in other disciplines.


Goals

The Department’s goals are related to supporting the University’s mission “to empower and promote the upward mobility of students through quality academic programs and provide students with the knowledge & skills to advance in their fields”.  The Department focuses on providing a high-quality education with an enhanced undergraduate experience and creating career development opportunities for students.  As a result, biology and mathematics graduates will have a strong foundation and excellent skills to successfully compete in the diverse domestic/global job market or complete graduate/professional studies at major academic institutions.


Curricula

Audit Form -- Biology (158 KB)

Audit Form -- Mathematics (390 KB)

Audit Form -- Mathematics Dual Degree (376 KB)

Audit Form -- Mathematics Engineering (373 KB)


Faculty

Dr. David S. Adegboye

Dr. David S. Adegboye

Professor of Biology

Email: dadegboye@suno.edu

Phone: 504 286-5097

Office: Natural Sciences Building - Room 373

Dr. Bashir Mahmoud Rezk Atteia

Dr. Bashir Atteia

Professor of Biology

Email: batteia@suno.edu

Phone: 504 284-5405

Office: Natural Sciences Building - Room 364

Dr. Rachid Belmasrour

Dr. Rachid Belmasrour

Associate Professor of Mathematics

Email: rbelmasror@suno.edu

Phone: 504 286-5116

Room: Natural Sciences Building, Room - 466


Dr. Zheng Chen

Dr. Christian Clement

Associate Professor of Biology

Email: cclement@suno.edu

Phone: 504 286-5406

Office: Natural Sciences Building - Room 365

Dr. Ibrahim Ekaidi

Dr. Ibrahim Ekaidi

Professor of Biology

Email: iekaidi@suno.edu

Phone: 504 286-5110

Office: Natural Sciences Building - Room 366

Dr. Mostafa Elaasar

Dr. Mostafa Elaasar

Professor of Physics

Email: melaasar@suno.edu

Phone: 504 286-5036

Office: Natural Sciences Building - Room 273


Dr. Penney Heath

Dr. Penney Heath

Associate Professor of Mathematics

Email: pheath@suno.edu

Phone: 504 286-5149

Office: Natural Sciences Building - Room 169

Dr. Carl P. Johnson

Dr. Carl P. Johnson

Professor of Chemistry & Chair

Email: cjohnson@suno.edu

Phone: 504 286-5461

Office: Natural Sciences Building - Room 452

Dr. Murty S. Kambhampati

Dr. Murty S. Kambhampati

Professor of Biology

Email: mkambham@suno.edu

Phone: 504 286-5069

Office: Natural Sciences Building - Room 363


 

Dr. Heon Kim

Dr. Heon Kim

Associate Professor of Mathematics

Email: hkim@suno.edu

Phone: 504 286-5146

Office: Natural Sciences Building - Room 170

Dr. Tchavdar Marinov

Dr. Tchavdar Marinov

Professor of Mathematics

Email: tmarinov@suno.edu

Phone: 504 286-5145

Office: Natural Sciences Building - Room 171

Dr. Lisa Mims-Devezin

Dr. Lisa Mims-Devezin

Professor of Biology

Email: lmims@suno.edu

Phone: 504 286-5064

Office: Natural Sciences Building - Room 261


Dr. John-Clifford Obih

Dr. John-Clifford Obih

Associate Professor of Biology

Email: jobih@suno.edu

Phone: 504 286-5068

Office: Natural Sciences Building - Room 367

Dr. Joseph O. Olubadewo

Dr. Joseph O. Olubadewo

Professor of Biology

Email: jolubadewo@suno.edu

Phone: 504 286-5109

Office: Natural Sciences Building - Room 368

Dr. Joe Omojola

Dr. Joe Omojola

Professor of Mathematics and Physics
James and Ruth Smith Endowed Professor of Science

Email: jomojola@suno.edu

Phone: 504 286-5096

Office: Natural Sciences Building - Room 458


Dr. Cynthia Singleton

Dr. Cynthia Singleton

Professor of Mathematics

Email: csingleton@suno.edu

Phone: 504 284-5479

Office: Natural Sciences Building - Room 162

Dr. Nebiat Sisay

Dr. Nebiat Sisay

Associate Professor of Chemistry

Email: nsisay@suno.edu

Phone: 504 286-5309

Office: Natural Sciences Building - Room 473

Dr. Illya Tietzel

Dr. Illya Tietzel

Professor of Biology

Email: itietzel@suno.edu

Phone: 504 286-5111

Office: Natural Sciences Building - Room 369


Dr. Yi Zhen

Dr. Yi Zhen

Associate Professor of Physics

Email: yzhen@suno.edu

Phone: 504 286-5241

Office: Natural Sciences Building - Room 163

This website uses cookies to ensure site visitors get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies and Privacy Statement. To find out more, please visit Southern University's Privacy Statement.