This website uses cookies to ensure site visitors get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies and Privacy Statement. To find out more, please visit Southern University's Privacy Statement.

I agree

Academic Advising

University College-Academic Advisors

Academic Advising within the unit of University College (UC) assist students enrolled as first year, continuing, re-admit and transfer students who have earned 0-60 credit hours. UC Academic Advisors serve as guides for navigating academic choices, help students plan and achieve their goals, and provide immediate and necessary support to ensure academic success. University College and Faculty Advisors are all housed within their respective Academic College or School. 

The University College host New Student Orientation, Summer Enrichment (coming soon), Keys to Success Workshops, peer to peer mentoring, and much more. Students are highly encouraged to meet with their Academic Advisor a minimum of 3 time per semester to remain on "time and on target" to graduate in four (4) years! The goal is for students to attempt and earn 15 credit hours per semester to graduate in 4! #15toFinishIn4 

Academic College/School University College Academic Advisor (0-60 Only)  Major/Concentration

College of Arts and Sciences 

Samantha Beaulieu 

sbeaulieu@suno.edu  

504-284-5493 

Natural Science Building

Room 464 

Biology, Mathematics, Forensic Science, Cybersecurity 
College of Business and Public Administration  Vacant Business Administration, Computer Information Systems, Public Administration 
College of Education and Human Development  Vacant Child Development, Family Studies, and Educational Studies 
School of Social Work 

Tina Smith 

Tsmith@suno.edu 

504-284-5557 

School of Social Work

Room 234  

Social Work, Addictive Behaviors 
School of Nursing  Nakia Anderson  

Nanderson@suno.edu  

504-286-5028 

Natural Science Building

Room 267 

Pre-Nursing

 Faculty Advisors/Mentors


Faculty Advisos/Mentors will meet you at New Student Orientation and also assist you with navigating campus life, but they will begin advising you after you reach 61 credit hours at SUNO! This group of professional staff person's will assist you gain internships and join clubs and organizations with the respective departments provide research opportunities based on specific interest! 

College of Arts and Sciences- Advisors

Faculty Advisor/Mentor Advisee Load

Deneen Lewis, Ph.D.  

dlewis@suno.edu 

504 286-5412 

Education Building, Room 361 

Interdisciplinary Studies 

Last Names A-K 

Nyla Ceasar-Noble 

504 286-5173 

nnoble@suno.edu  

Education Building, Room 315 

Interdisciplinary Studies 

Last names L-Z 

 

Criminal Justice Majors

Raymond Delaney, Ph.D.  

504 286-5367 

rdelaney@suno.edu  

Education Building, Room 357 

Criminal Justice 

Last names A-D

 

Franklyn Scott, Ph.D.  

504 286-5464 

fscott@suno.edu  

Education Building, Room 353 

Criminal Justice 

Last names E-H

Darren Gill 

504 286-5540 

dgil@suno.edu  

Education Building, Room 360 

Criminal Justice 

Last names I-L

Darryl Roberts, Ph.D.  

504 286-5401 

droberts@suno.edu  

Education Building, Room 358 

Criminal Justice 

Last names M-S 

Harry Cantrell 

504 286-5094 

hcantrel@suno.edu 

Education Building, Room 363  

Criminal Justice 

Last names S-Z 

Psychology Majors
Kenneth Foy  

504 286-5372 

kfoy@suno.edu  

Education Building, Room 354 

Psychology  

Last names A-Q 

Ashley Ojo, Ph.D.  

504 286-5233 

aojo@suno.edu  

Education Building, Room 313 

Psychology  

Last names R-Z

English Majors

Robert Azzarell, Ph.D.  

504 286-5060 

razzarello@suno.edu  

Education Building, Room 361 

English  

Last names A-J

Adam Falik, M.F.A.  

504 286-5012 

afalik@suno.edu  

Education Building, Room 325 

English  

Last names K-S 

Chester Mills, Ph.D.  

504 286-5124 

cmills@suno.edu 

Education Building, Room 337 

 
English  

Last names T-Z

Forensic Science Majors

Meiko Thompson, Ph.D.  

504 286-5307 

mthompson@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room 373 

 
Forensic Science 

Last names A-K 

Brooklyn Johnson  

504 286-5140  

bjohnson@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room 365 

Forensic Science 

Last names L-Z

Health Information Management Systems Majors (HIMS)
Jarius Ballard, MHI, RHIA, CLT, CTR  

504 286-5083 

jballard@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room261

Health Information Management Systems 

Last names A-F 

John Barrilleaux, MME, RHIA 

504 286-5095  

jbarrilleaux@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room 266  

Health Information Management Systems 

Last Names G-Q

Sharon McGee, MS, RHIA 

504 286-5098 

smcgee@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room264 

Health Information Management Systems 

Last Names R-Z

Mathematics Majors
Rachid Belmasrour, Ph.D.  

504 286-5116 

rbelmasrour@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room 106 

Mathematics 

Last Names A-E

Penny Heath, Ph.D.  

504 286-5149 

pheath@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room 169 

Mathematics 

Last Names F-I 

Heon Kim, Ph.D.  

504 286-5146 

hkim@suno.edu   

Natural Science Building, Room 170 

Mathematics 

Last Names J-M 

Tchavdar Marinov, Ph.D.  

504 286-5145 

tmarinov@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room171 

Mathematics 

Last Names N-Q

Joe Omojola, Ph.D.  

504 286-5096 

jomojola@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room 172 

Mathematics 

Last Names R-U

Cynthia Singleton 

504 286-5479 

csingleton@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room 162  

Mathematics 

Last Names V-Z

Biology Majors
David Adegboye, Ph.D.  

504 286-5097 

dadegboye@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room 374 

Biology 

Last Names A-C

Bashir Atteia, Ph.D.  

504 286-5405 

batteia@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room 364 

Biology

Last Names D-F

 

Christian Clement, Ph.D.  

Chair for Mathematics and Biology 

504 286-5146 

cclement@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room 365 

Biology 

Last Names G-I 

Lisa Mims-Devezin, Ph.D.  

504 286-5145 

lmims@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room 153 

Biology 

Last Names J-L

Ibrahim Ekaidi, M.D.  

504 286-5096 

iekaidi@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room 366 

Biology 

Last Names M-O

Murty Kambhampati, Ph.D.  

504 286-5479 

mkambhampati@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room 363 

Biology 

Last Names P-R

Gregory Ford, Ph.D.  

504 286-5068 

gford@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room 367 

Biology 

Last Names S-U

Joseph Olubadewo, Ph.D.  

504 286-5109 

jolubadewo@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room 368 

Biology

Last Names V-W

Illya Tietzel, Ph.D.  

504 286-5111 

itietzel@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room 369 

Biology 

Last Names X-Z

Cybersecurity Majors
Kenneth Williams, Ph.D., CISSP, ITiL v3 

504 286-5285 

klwilliams@suno.edu 

Natural Science Building, Room 465 

Cybersecurity

Last Names A-Z 

 

College of Business and Public Administration

  • Igwe E. Udeh, Ph.d.
  • Dean, College of Business and Public Adminstration
  • Department
  • (504)- 286-5330
  • iudeh@suno.edu
  • Faculty Advisor/Mentor Advisee Load

    Dr. C. Briggs

    cbriggs@suno.edu 

    504-286-5173

    CBA Room 213 

    Business Administration 

    Last Names A-D

    Dr. Y. Lee

    ylee@suno.edu 

    504-286-5143

    CBA Room 107

    Business Administration 

    Last Names E-I

    Dr. K. Poudel

    kpoudel@suno.edu

    504-286-5161

    CBA Room 209

    Business Administration 

    Last Names J-N

    Dr S. Okpechi

    sokpechi@suno.edu

    504-286-5305

    CBA Room 106

    Business Administration 

    Last Names O-Q

    Dr. M. Smith

    msmith@suno.edu

    504-286-5139

    CBA Room 216

    Business Administration 

    Last Names R-T

    Dr. V. Ukpolo

    vukpolo@suno.edu

    504-286-5017

    CBA Room 114 

    Business Administration 

    Last Names U-Z

    Computer Information System Majors

    Dr. A. Arara

    aarara@suno.edu

    504-286-5271

    CBA Room 105

     

    Computer Information Systems

    Last Names A-F

    Dr. S. Eweni

    seweni@suno.edu

    504-286-5170

    CBA Room 208

    Computer Information Systems

    Last Names G-K

    Dr. O. Kwun

    okwun@suno.edu

    504-286-5168

    CBA Room 204

    Computer Information Systems

    Last Names L-P

    Dr. Y. Yu

    yyu@suno.edu 

    504-286-5169

    CBA 203

    Computer Information Systems

    Last Names Q-Z

    Public Adminstration Majors

    Dr. P. Robertson

    probertson@suno.edu

    504-286-5333

    CBA 112

    Public Adminstration

    Last Names A-Z

    Dr. D. Alijani

    dalijani@suno.edu

    504-286-5142

    CBA 110

    MS Computer Information Systems

 

College of Education and Human Development

Faculty Advisor/Mentor Advisee Load

Sherry Bachus, Ph.D. 

sbachus@suno.edu 

504-286-5334

Department Chair

Child Development and Family Studies 

Celina P. Carson, Ph.D. 

ccarson@suno.edu 

504-286-5042

Child Development and Family Studies 

Last Name A-M 

Diane Bordenave, Ed.D. 

dbordenave@suno.edu 

504-286-5204

 

Child Development and Family Studies 

Last Names N-Z

Jenita C. Hegwood, Ed.D. 

jhegwood@suno.edu 

504-286-5353

Teacher Education 

Last Names A-M

Deborah Darby, Ph.D. 

ddarby@suno.edu 

504-286-5041

Teacher Education 

Last Names N-Z

Erika Hernandez

ehernandez@suno.edu

504-286-5462

Certification Only

 

Kimberly Stanley 

kstanley@suno.edu

504-286-5044

Certification Only 

 

School of Social Work

  • Rebecca A. Chaisson, ph.D., LCSW
  • Dean, School of Social Work
  • (504) 286-5050
  • rchaisson@suno.edu
  • Faculty Advisor/Mentor Advisee Load

    Karen Martin, Ph.D., L.M.S.W. 

    Kmartin@suno.edu 

    504-286-5053 

    Social Work  

    Last Names A-G 

    Claude Montegut Jr., M.S.W.  

    Cmontegut@suno.edu 

    504-286-5058 

    Social Work 

    Last Names H-P

    Damekia Morgan D.S.W. 

    Dmorgan@suno.edu 

    504-286-5077 

    Social Work 

    Last Names R-Z

 

School of Nursing

Faculty Advisor/Mentor Advisee Load 

Kelly Smith,  DNP, APRN, PHCNS-BC, CNE, Dean 

Ksmith@suno.edu 

504-286-5023 

Nursing (Accepted Students)

Tanisha Smothers 

tsmothers@suno.edu   

504-286-5066 

Nursing (Accepted Students)

Treniese Monday 

tmonday@suno.edu  

504-286-5061 

Nursing (Accepted Students)

Krystal Howard- Henry 

Khenry@suno.edu 

Nursing (Accepted Students)