Press Releases

Ribbon-Cutting Ceremony Today for SUNO Forensic Lab

Friday, March 18, 2016


Contact: Tammy Barney
(504) 286-5343

NEW ORLEANS, LA – March 18, 2016 – A Ribbon-Cutting Ceremony for the new Forensic Science Lab at Southern University at New Orleans (SUNO) is scheduled at 11 a.m. Friday, March 18, 2016 in the Conference Center. 

The lab, located in the New Science Building on the Park Campus, features ergonomic furniture, a DNA Sequencer, a Pressure Cycler, two inverted microscopes, stereoscopes and numerous kits for evidence collection and drug analysis. Grants from Title III Programs, the Board of Regents and a collaboration with Pressure Biosciences, Inc. in Boston, MA were used to help pay for the new lab and equipment, which costs about $1 million.

SUNO began offering Forensic Science as a major in 2013. The University is one of four Historically Black Colleges and Universities in the country to offer such a program, and the only university in Louisiana to do so. The program, in which 68 students are currently enrolled, expects to have its first graduates this May.

In January, three Forensic Science students began an internship at the office of Orleans Parish Coroner’s Office with Dr. Jeffrey Rouse. As a result of this collaboration, SUNO students have an opportunity to gain experience at crime scenes and autopsies while receiving valuable networking connections from the Coroner’s Office.

“We are very excited about our new lab,” said Dr. Pam Marshall, director of the Forensic Science Program. “We have a lot of unique equipment that will allow our students to be exposed to things they will see in a crime lab while using cutting-edge equipment.”

Following the Ribbon-Cutting Ceremony, during which Dr. Rouse will give opening remarks, guests will have an opportunity to tour the new lab.
Post has no comments.
Post a Comment

Captcha Image

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.


Arlanda J. Williams (B'03, M'06) is the first woman to serve as chair of the Terrebonne Parish Council. She is also the youngest person ever elected president of the Louisiana Police Jury Association's Black Caucus.