Social Work

More Department Details

  • The SUNO School of Social Work administers two programs: (1) a four year baccalaureate program (BSW) which provides social work education in preparation for beginning generalist professional practice; and (2) a two-year graduate course of study (MSW), which provides social work education in preparation for advanced specialized professional practice.

    The undergraduate social work program comprises two phases: Pre- Social Work phase and Professional Social Work phase. Pre-Social Work students are students who are admitted to the University and declare social work as their major. The Professional phase begins in the junior year and combines academic course work and a field practicum.
  • Gladys Barrett-Merrick, LMSW
    gmerrick@suno.edu

    Edgar Blanchard, LMSW
    eblanchard@suno.edu

    Rebecca A. Chaisson, Ph.D., LCSW
    rchaisson@suno.edu

    Derrick Freeman, Ph.D., ACSW
    dfreeman@suno.edu

    Patricia Guillory, Ph.D., LCSW-BACS
    pguillory@suno.edu

    Claude Montegut Jr., LMSW
    cmontegut@suno.edu

    Jill E. Murray, PhD, LCSW-BACS
    jmurray@suno.edu

    Ira Arthell Neighbors, Ph.D., LCSW
    ineighbo@suno.edu

    Sam Odom, Ph.D., MSW
    sodom@suno.edu

    Ben Robertson, Ph.D., LMSW
    brobertson@suno.edu

    Harry A. Russell, PhD, LMSW
    hrussell@suno.edu


    Torin Sanders, Ph.D., LCSW-BACS
    tsanders@suno.edu

    Patrice Sentino, DSW, LCSW-BACS
    psentino@suno.edu


    Tina Smith, MSW
    tsmith@suno.edu

    Sybil Schroeder, Ph.D., LMSW
    sschroeder@suno.edu

    Gail Peterson Wise, DSW, LCSW
    gwise@suno.edu

    Staff
    Susan Edgerson, MSW
    sedgerson@suno.edu

    Linda Brooks
    lbrooks@suno.edu

    Darlene Tyler
    dtyler@suno.edu

    Camille A. Alexander, MSW
    calexander@suno.edu

  • Teaching:
    To use learning approaches and prepare students to integrate the values of ethics, knowledge, and skill base of the social work profession with respect for all people aimed toward social change and promotion of social justice.

    Teaching is also designed to anchor social work knowledge in our program’s themes of advocacy, empowerment and transformation.

    Service:
    To provide leadership to the university, the community and the profession.
    To serve the local, national and international areas by preparing students to fill the dynamic social welfare resource needs for generalist and advanced practitioners.
    To foster the commitment of students and faculty to active involvement in improving the quality of life in the community in which they live.

    Scholarship:
    To effectively assist the process of professional development among faculty and students.
    To contribute to the knowledge base of the strengths of diverse client populations.

    Upon completion of the program students will be able to :
    1. Identify as a professional social worker and conduct oneself accordingly
    2. Apply social work ethical principles to guide professional practice
    3. Apply critical thinking to inform and communicate professional judgments
    4. Engage diversity and difference in practice
    5. Advance human rights and social and economic justice
    6. Engage in research-informed practice and practice-informed research
    7. Apply knowledge of human behavior and the social environment
    8. Engage in policy practice to advance social and economic well-being and to deliver effective social work services
    9. Respond to contexts that shape practice
    10. Engage, assess, intervene, and evaluate with individuals, families, groups, organizations, and communities

DID YOU KNOW?

From 2006 to 2010, the New Orleans Police Department was led by two SUNO graduates -- Warren J. Riley (B'98, M'00) and Marlon Defillo (B'92, M'00).