Natural Sciences


CURRICULA

Audit Form -- Biology Audit Form -- Biology (158 KB)

Audit Form -- Forensic Science Audit Form -- Forensic Science (446 KB)

Audit Form -- Math Audit Form -- Math (390 KB)

Audit Form -- Math Dual Degree Audit Form -- Math Dual Degree (376 KB)

Audit Form -- Math Engineering Audit Form -- Math Engineering (373 KB)

More Department Details

  • The Department of Natural Sciences consists of six units, namely Biology, Chemistry, Forensic Science, Mathematics, Physics and SUNO-UNO Dual Engineering. Among these units, the department offers BS degree programs in the areas of Biology, Mathematics, and Forensic Science. It also serves to provide instruction for students planning to acquire degrees in these specific content areas, as well as offering support courses in these subjects to satisfy criteria for graduation in other disciplines.
  • Dr. David S. Adegboye
    Professor of Microbiology, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, and Accreditation Liaison
    Bashful Administration Building, Room 158
    504.286.5381
    dadegboye@suno.edu

    Dr. Bashir Mahmoud Rezk Atteia
    Assistant Professor
    New Science 321E
    504.284.5405
    batteia@suno.edu

    Dr. Rachid Belmasrour
    Assistant Professor
    New Science Building, Room 323
    504.286.5116
    rbelmasror@suno.edu

    Dr. Alvin Bopp
    Professor
    Brown Hall, Room 304
    504.286.5025
    abopp@suno.edu

    Dr. Zheng Chen
    Associate Professor
    New Science Building, Room 307
    504-286-5097
    zchen@suno.edu

    Dr. Christian Clement
    Assistant Professor
    New Science Building, Room 321E
    504.286.5406
    cclement@suno.edu

    Dr. Kimyata Dilworth
    Instructor
    Bashful Administration Building, Room 204B
    504.286.5458
    kdilworth@suno.edu

    Dr. Ibrahim Ekaidi, M.D.
    Associate Professor
    New Science 317
    504.286.5110
    iekaidi@suno.edu

    Dr. Mostafa Elaasar
    Professor
    Brown Hall, Room 208
    504.286.5036
    melaasar@suno.edu

    Ms. Paris Favorite
    Instructor
    Bashful Administration Building, Room 205
    504.286.5112
    pfavorite@suno.edu

    Dr. Penney Heath
    Associate Professor
    New Science Building, Room 307
    504.286.5149
    pheath@suno.edu

    Dr. Carl P. Johnson
    Professor
    Brown Hall, Room 308
    504.286.5461
    cjohnson@suno.edu

    Dr. Murty S. Kambhampati
    Professor
    New Science 321A
    504.286.5069
    mkambham@suno.edu

    Dr. Heon Kim
    Associate Professor
    New Science Building, Room 323
    hkim@suno.edu

    Dr. Tchavdar Marinov
    Associate Professor
    Brown Hall, Room 208
    504.286.5145
    tmarinov@suno.edu

    Dr. Pam Marshall
    Assistant Professor/Director, Forensic Science
    Bashful Administration Building, Room 205
    504.286.5307
    pmarshall@suno.edu

    Dr. Lisa Mims-Devezin
    Professor of Biology and Dean, College of Arts and Science
    Lake Campus Multipurpose Complex, Room 407
    504.286.5074
    lmims@suno.edu

    Dr. Phyllis Okwan
    Instructor
    New Science Building, Room 321F
    504.286.5094
    pokwan@suno.edu

    Dr. Joseph O. Olubadewo
    Associate Professor
    New Science Building, Room 319
    504.286.5109
    jolubadewo@suno.edu

    Dr. Joe Omojola
    Professor
    Brown Hall, Room 204
    504.286.5096
    jomojola@suno.edu

    Dr. Cynthia Singleton
    Associate Professor
    New Science Building, Room 303
    504.286.5479
    csinglet@suno.edu

    Dr. Nebiat Sisay
    Assistant Professor
    Brown Building, Room 307
    nsisay@suno.edu

    Dr. Delin Tan
    Associate Professor
    New Science Building, Room 323
    504.286.5147
    dtan@suno.edu

    Dr. Illya Tietzel
    Associate Professor
    New Science Building, Room 315
    504.286.5111
    itietzel@suno.edu

    Dr. Yi Zhen
    Assistant Professor
    Brown Building, Room 208
    504.286.5241
    yzhen@suno.edu
  • The individual units in the Department share the following goals: (1) to enable students, through fulfillment of the University requirements, to understand the nature of the universe and the world around them; (2) to provide areas of concentrated study for students who contemplate careers as professionals in the sciences; (3) to give students well-balanced training in the application of scientific method, techniques, and mathematics to solve contemporary problems; and (4) to prepare students for admission to schools of medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, forensic science, and engineering, as well as graduate schools in the sciences and engineering.

DID YOU KNOW?

SUNO’s Forensic Science program is the only one of its kind in the state.