# Faculty Senate Meeting September 10, 2019

### **Senators Present**

Yun Doo Lee Sherry Bachus Tariana Smith Deborah Darby Celina Carson Harry Russell George Amedee

Nebiat Sisay Patricia Robertson Haitham Eid Christopher Linn

### **At-Large Present**

Chester Mills Louise Kaltenbough Illya Tietzel Simeon Okpechi

Past President
Cynthia Ramirez
Visitors
Ibrahim Ekaidi
John-Clifford Obih
Evelyn Harrell

David S. Adegboye

## **Meeting Called to Order**

The meeting was called to order at 3:40 pm

### **Elections**

There were 4 nominees for Faculty Senate President: Dr. Elaasar, Dr. Patricia Robertson, Dr. Mills, and Dr. Amedee. There was one nomination for Faculty Senate Secretary: Dr. Sisay. There was one nomination for Faculty Senate Treasurer: Ms. Tariana Smith. There were not any nominations submitted for Faculty Senate Vice President.

Dr. Amedee declined his nomination for president. Dr. Sisay declined his nomination for secretary. Tariana Smith accepted the nomination as treasurer. Dr. Kay moved to close the nominations and Dr. Linn seconded the motion. Each of the candidates were given a chance to address the Faculty Senate. Dr. Mostafa was attending a conference.

Dr. Roberston received 4 votes. Dr. Mills received 4 votes. Dr. Mostafa received 5 votes and 3 absentee votes. Dr. Mostafa won the election.

#### **Concerns**

There were a number of concerns pertaining to how the election was conducted: absentee voting, not knowing the nominees ahead of time, and integrity of the process.

## **Meeting Ended**

The meeting ended at 4:17 pm.